Tuesday, June 8, 2010

CFDA Awards

It was one fashionable awards ceremony, or better known as the CFDA's. It was a star studded event that had rooms filled with beautiful people and beautiful clothes. My personal favorite look of the night was the one of Sarah Jessica Parker who wore a stunning floor length number created by the late Alexander McQueen. Sarah Burton, the new head designer of McQueen was recently chosen to carry on with his legacy and hand picked this exqusite number for Parker. The moving and powerful speech she gave as a tribute to McQueen was emotional and heartfelt. During the tribute, they displayed his very last collection which was anything from ordinary. "He was a singular man. How do you do him justice in a few words?" said Parker during the cocktail hour of the awards.

Lots of desevering designers went home with awards last night. Such as the nine time winner Marc Jacobs. He was awarded with the Womenswear Design Statuette.

The always adorable Jason Wu took home the Swarovski Womenswear Statuette. At the dinner following the awards ceremony, he mentioned how nervous he was before the night begun. "I was so nervous, I asked Rachel for advice. She told me 'Just breath.' I think it was her red lipstick. Red is good luck in Chinese culture."

I could not be any happier with the winners of the night. Each person was more than deserving of their awards. Below is the complete list of the winners from the night.
On that note, I will leave you with my favorite quote from the night. It comes from the honoree of the Eugenia Sheppard Award, Kim Hastreiter of Paper Magazine. "I hope the fashion world looks beyond the usual suspects. Just because you're cute, well connected, rich, or the offspring of someone famous doesn't mean you design great stuff."

Womenswear Designer of the Year - Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year - Marcus Wainwright & David Neville for Rag & Bone

Accessory Designer of the Year - Alexis Bittar

Swarovski Award for Womenswear - Jason Wu

Swarovski Award for Menswear - Richard Chai

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design - Alexander Wang

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award - Michael Kors

International Award - Christopher Bailey for Burberry

Eugenia Sheppard Award - Kim Hastreiter, Editor & Publisher, Paper Magazine

Eleanor Lambert Award - Tonne Goodman, Fashion Director, Vogue

Fashion Icon Award - Iman

Board of Directors’ Special Tribute - Alexander McQueen

No comments:

Post a Comment